French Cheeseburger Loaf

Lately I’ve been modifying recipes to make just one or two servings to avoid having to eat the same meal all week and this is one of my successes! It was really easy and quite delicious! Modified from this recipe. The major changes I made were the amounts of ingredients and the type of cheese. I used real cheddar cheese instead of a low fat packaged kind. I realize that there is more fat and calories in this, but in my mind its more natural and therefor tastier and better for you.

Ingredients:

1/4 lean ground beef

1/6 cup chopped sweet onion (I don’t own a 1/6 so I just sort of eyeballed this)

1/3 green pepper, chopped

1 garlic clove, chopped

2/3 tablespoon flour (again I eyeballed this)

1/2 tablespoon ketchup

2/3 tablespoon mustard (eyeballed)

1/3 tube refrigerated crusty french loaf bread (wrap the rest and freeze for later time)

1/3 shredded cheddar

1 egg white, beaten

1 tablespoon parmesan

Cook the beef, onion and pepper in a skillet until beef is fully cooked. Add garlic and cook 1 minute longer. Stir in flour, ketchup and mustard. Set aside. Slice dough into thirds, unrolling one of the thirds. Spread this into a rectangular shape, this was the tricky part for me, I sort of folded it in half. Spoon meat onto dough. Top with cheese. Bring long sides of dough together and pinch to seal. Place seam side down on a cookie sheet. Brush with egg white and sprinkle parmesan on top. Cut diagonal slits on top, bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees. Makes Two Servings.

2 thoughts on “French Cheeseburger Loaf

  1. oo sounds good, may have to try. You could even lighten it up more by using ground chicken or turkey for fewer calories and cheese made with 2% milk. Perhaps I’ll experiment and let you know!

Leave a Reply

