Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

When I bake I like to take recipes I’ve been making for years and tweak them a bit to make something new. For these tasty little treasures I used my mom’s Blue Ribbon Brownie Recipe, but halved it to make a dozen brownie bites. The topping is peanut butter frosting made from a chocolate frosting recipe. It is really hard for me to find a homemade frosting recipe I like. (I’m a little ashamed to admit I often top things made from scratch with canned frosting, its just so yummy.) I love this chocolate frosting so I took out the cocoa and swapped half the butter for peanut butter.

For the Brownies:

1/2 cup flour
pinch salt
pinch baking powder
1/2 cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cocoa
1 tsp vanilla

Combine sugar and butter, add eggs and vanilla then cocoa. Mix in remaining dry ingredients. Spoon into a greased muffin tin. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

For the Peanut Butter Frosting:

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
pinch salt
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups powdered sugar

Mix together butter and peanut butter until creamy. Add salt and vanilla. Alternate milk and powdered sugar. As always with frosting, add more powdered sugar or milk to get your desired consistency.

For easy frosting, I put a plastic baggie into a cup then spoon the frosting in. Snip the corner of the bag and squeeze. I chilled both the brownies and frosting before putting them together. Sprinkle with cocoa powder for a pretty touch.

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

  1. Pingback: Homemade Heart Brownies | Tulips & Rain

Leave a Reply

