Rocky Road Cookies

I’m headed to Minnesota this weekend with a few high school friends to stay at the lake, so of course many baked goods are needed! I decided I wanted to make rocky road cookies. I popped on over to Pinterest to find a recipe. Well, turns out all the rocky road cookies on Pinterest require parchment paper, full size cookie sheets, a modern properly working oven and a whole lot of precarious steps such as carefully removing them from the greased parchment paper ( things like that don’t usually turn out very well for me.) So longstoryshort I decided to whip up my own version, who needs a recipe any way.

I just tweaked a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe a bit. I made a half batch because I already used some of the chocolate chips for puppy chow (NOMNOM.)

Mix together a little less than 1/2 cup each sugar and brown sugar with one stick of butter. Add one egg, a teaspoon vanilla and 1/3 cup cocoa. Mix well. Stir in 1 cup flour, pinch salt and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. Add 1/2 cup mini marshmallows, 2/3 cup chocolate chips, 1 ounce chopped almonds (I used one pack of these.) Bake at 350 on a greased cookie sheet for nine minutes. (At least that’s how long it takes in a 30 year old mini oven.)

One thought on “Rocky Road Cookies

  1. they look so delicious and soft! we just baked momofuku milk bar cookies w/ chocolate chips, graham cracker crust, coffee, oats, pretzels and potato chips! doing a giveaway with the mixes – come check it out!

Leave a Reply

