January Reading List

January Reading List | Tulips & Rain

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to read more books . I’ve always loved reading, but during college I read for pleasure pretty sporadically. After reading  skimming hundreds of pages about Stieglitz’s Circle, Women’s Suffrage and yellow journalism the last thing I wanted to do was pick up a novel. But now that I’m free of reading journals and essay tests I am so happy to get back into reading for fun.
Henry House | Tulips & RainThe first book I cracked into this month was The Irresistible Henry House by Lisa Grunwald. It’s been sitting on my shelf since I picked it up this summer at Half Price Books. My main motivation for purchasing the book was the cover. (Yeah  I do that.) And then it turned out to be a really excellent read. I love stories that follow characters from youth to adulthood and this novel does that very thing. Henry House is an orphan raised in a practice house at a university shortly after WWII. The story follows him as he grows up and travels about the US and Europe as an animator.

The Longest Ride | Tulips & Rain

When a new Nicholas Sparks book comes out I can’t not read it. I was pleasantly surprised by  The Longest Ride. I’ve usually got the ending of Nicholas Sparks books figured out by the time I’m 150 or so pages in, but this one I just couldn’t figure out. One of the characters is an art collector, so there were lots of art history references. And man did I feel educated when I correctly identified Black Mountain College. Good work on this one Nick!

TheInterestings | Tulips & Rain I’m almost half way through The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer and so far so good. Its ABM Book Club’s January Selection and when I saw that it followed the characters throughout their life I jumped on the bandwagon! I’m looking forward to seeing where life takes the artistic characters and to join in on the convo over at A Beautiful Mess at the end of the month.

Gone Girl | Tulips & RainI realize that I’m way behind the times on this one, but I finally snagged Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn from the library (after accidentally putting the Spanish version on hold.) I’ve heard very good things about it and word on the street is Ben Aflec is in the movie version.

What’s on your reading list this month?

Leave a Reply

