Taco Pizza

Taco Pizza | Tulips & Rain I spent pretty much every free Friday night between 2006 and 2009 sitting around my parent’s kitchen table with a gaggle (yes a gaggle) of girlfriends and two Casey’s pizzas. It was always one sausage and one taco pizza. And let me tell you, that taco pizza is delicious. If you know anything about small town Casey’s you know that the Casey’s in your own small hometown makes hands-down the best pizza. Don’t even talk to me about Clarence Casey’s or Lisbon Casey’s pizza. I only want Mechanicsville Casey’s pizza. I never get taco pizza anywhere else because I know it just won’t live up–but I think I’ve come pretty close with this homemade version. Taco PizzaI haven’t quite mastered the homemade dough yet. It’s really easy to make but I tend to over bake it. I blame my tiny oven and ghetto cookie sheet. But made in {my mom’s} brand-spanking-new oven on {my mom’s} fancy-schmancy pizza stone it is the best. So I have hope for my own skills–and know the recipe is bomb. It’s a whole wheat crust recipe, but I wasn’t sure how the wheat-y taste would go with the whole taco business, so I used half white, half wheat flour. Taco PizzaPizza Crust

Ingedients
2 1/2 cups flour (1 cup white, 1 1/2 cups wheat)
2 1/4 teaspoons yeast
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup warm water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon sugar

Directions

Combine yeast, water and 1 teaspoon sugar in a bowl, let sit for 5 minutes. Combine 2 cups flour, salt and remaining sugar. Make well and add yeast mixture and olive oil. Stir dough, kneed for five minutes, incorporating remaining flour. Shape dough into a ball and put in a lightly greased bowl. Raise one hour, or until dough has doubled in size. Punch dough and roll out. Rest 10 minutes. {Add toppings} Bake at 475 for 10-15 minutes. Taco PizzaOk, now for the fun part {add toppings}! Spread most of a can of refried beans on top of the crust dough. I had left overs from tostados a while back in my freezer, there was probably a cup or a cup and half in there.ย Taco PizzaThrow some Mexican Blend cheese on there. I used an entire package {2 cups} Taco PizzaNow bakeDSCN9475Now for the fresh toppings! Dice about half a pint of cherry tomatoes. ย Avocados were on sale so I picked up one of those to throw on top. It was actually a little under whelming. I mostly just ate the avocado on its own. Don’t forget the lettuce.DSCN9486Now the MOST IMPORTANT part is the chips and the taco sauce. Crush some tortilla chips {or Doritos if you want the true Casey’s experience} and drizzle taco sauce on top. {DONT skip the taco sauce. It’s the BEST part.} I’ve been using plain greek yogurt in the place of sour cream lately, so I threw some of that on too.ย DSCN9490Dig in! If you’ll have leftovers {#singlelife} only put the fresh toppings on the slices you’ll eat right away. For the leftovers–reheat in microwave first, then add tomatoes, lettuce, chips etc. after reheating.

4 thoughts on “Taco Pizza

  1. Pingback: Chicken Bacon Ranch Pizza | Tulips & Rain

Leave a Reply

