Reading Lately

Reading LatelyI finally picked up a book and actually read the entire thing for the first time in months. My New Year’s Resolution  was to read more and to get through all the unread books on my bookshelf. I’m one (almost two) books closer to completing my goal.

I’ve tried to get into The Shoemaker’s Wife a few times but it just didn’t grab me until I read the summary on the back and figured out who the main character actually was (completely different than I though from reading the first few pages) I was intrigued. The story stretches across 30+ plus years as two young Italians emigrate to America and grow into adults. It’s a bit predictable in a Nicholas Sparks sort of way–but that’s not always a bad thing. And Trigiani paints a beautifully vivid picture of life as a young Italian immigrant that is a delight to read.

I’ve been reading a few chapters here and there from Lean In for the past several months and I’m just about finished. I’m not going to get into my point of view on Sandberg’s statements, but I do think it’s an important and valuable point of view to read and consider. Love it or hate it, the woman has some pretty legitimate stuff to say.

Leave a Reply

