Strawberry-Peach Crumble

DSCN0248I bough a sack of peaches at the grocery store last week in hopes of enjoying impossibly sweet, chin-dripping juicy fruit all week long. But, alas no such thing happened. They never ripened and after half-hardheartedly throwing one into a smoothie I decided there was a much better use for them. Dessert. I had about a half pound of strawberries that were on their last leg too–so I threw them in to keep the peaches company. DSCN0211Now, not so long ago I posted about how I was trying to move in the opposite direction of relatively unhealthy food. And while this certainly falls into the relatively unhealthy category I tried to make it just a bit better by reducing the butter and sugar. And I didn’t have any white sugar, so I used all brown sugar (and brown sugar is totally better than white sugar. right? no? Oh well)  DSCN0216Since peaches and strawberries are already pretty juicy I didn’t miss the sugar.
DSCN0218The only difference I really noticed was in the topping. I based this recipe off of my apple crisp recipe which gives you a thick, gooey-crispy (yeah gooey-crispy is a thing) topping that you can sneak of in chunks when no one is looking. (Don’t even pretend like you don’t do that.) But with half the butter it’s more of a sweet crumbly oatmeal cookie-like topping. Still delicious, but slightly less indulgent. DSCN0219

Ingredients:
4-5 small peaches, chopped
1/2 pound strawberries, chopped
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon lemon juice

3/4 cup Old Fashioned Oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 cup butter


DSCN0220

Directions:

Toss peaches and strawberries with sugar, flour, cinnamon and lemon juice. Dump into an 8 x 8 pan. Soften butter to room temperature. Mix together with oats, sugar, flour cinnamon and butter–I used a fork to start with, then finished with my hands. Sprinkle on top of fruit in pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

DSCN0244

Leave a Reply

