Chicken Taco Chili

DSCN0668IIIIIt’s Slow-Cooker Season!! Okay, maybe not quite–but almost. I found this recipe on Pinterest (one of those mysterious pins that go nowhere, but have the recipe in the comments) a few years ago before I had my own slow-cooker. You can easily make this on the stove–just cook the chicken beforehand. But man, if you have a slow-cooker–use it! They’re like magic. But we all know that already so let’s move on. I love chili, but after eating an entire of batch of my standard chili I’m so over it for the season, so this is a nice little twist on the classic fall-favorite. And since it’s not classic chili it feels August-appropriate. DSCN0635llYou need a chicken breast–about 1 pound, a can of corn, two cans of diced tomatoes, a can of tomato sauce and a can of black beans. You can add a can of kidney beans too to make it a bit hardier, but I opted out for the sake of being less chili-like and more August appropriate (aka I forgot to get them at the store). Season with one packet of taco seasoning. I like the less-sodium version, but I couldn’t find it at the store this week. You also need a little kick (not pictured above). I usually use a few teaspoons of chili powder, but I was all out so I threw in some red pepper flakes. If you’re not into the spicy thing you could probably do without. Dump everything in your slow-cooker and set on low for 8-10 hours or high for 4-6. I consider it done when the chicken is cooked through and is bubbling. Take out the cooked chicken and shred it–shreds like a dream–then throw it back in and give the whole thing a good stir. I like to leave it on low for another 30 minutes or so after just for good measure, but you can serve it right after shredding the chicken too. DSCN0661As you can see by all the variations and options here–it’s really hard to mess this up. Top with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and crushed tortilla chips. And enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Taco Chili

Leave a Reply

