Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie

Can we talk about the magical things happening to the weather lately. Fall has arrived even though it’s still (technically, officially) summer. I couldn’t be happier. The leaves are changing, the trench coat is out and temps are dipping in to the 50’s (40’s after dark!! weeeee). There’s talks of a high in the 80’s later this week, but I’m ignoring them. This wonderful seasonably-sound weather calls for cozy, comfy food–like these easy chicken pot pies!
DSCN0800

These guys are semi-homemade with canned soup and pre-made pie crusts, you could certainly make your own pie crust, but my pastry-making skills just aren’t there yet. I want to try them with homemade soup and if the rumors are true, I have a long, cold season ahead of me just calling for many pot pie recipe tests. But before I get ahead of myself, here’s the recipe for this easy-peasy, yummylicious belly-filling dish.

DSCN0805

Ingredients:
1 package pre-made pie crusts (I used these ones)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
olive oil
2 cups chopped red potatoes
2 cups chopped carrots
1 cup chopped fresh green bean
1 small yellow onion (or 1/2 of a large one), chopped
1/2 soup can milk
salt and pepper to taste.

Directions:
Rub chicken breast with olive oil and season with salt and pepper, cook on stove until no longer pink. Shred and set aside. Put potatoes, carrots, green beans and onions in a large pot, cover with water. Season with salt and pepper, bring to boil. Let simmer until tender, about 20 minutes, drain any remaining water. Add soup and milk, bring back to a boil. Add chicken, let simmer for a few more minutes. Add more salt and pepper to taste (if needed). Unroll pie crusts, use a pizza cutter or knife to slice into strips. (You will probably have left over pie crust. I only sliced 1 and 1/2 and used the remaining half to make an apple hand pie–yum!). Ladle chicken and veggies into 5 15oz. ramekins or small baking dishes. Top with a lattice pie crust pattern–I was sure I learned how to do this from Cupcakes and Cashmere, but I can’t seem to find the post, so I might have made that up. But here’s a pretty good tutorial. But really you can just throw the crust on top however you please. Bake at 425 for 15-20 minutes, until filling is bubbling and crust is golden brown on edges.

I only bake what I’m going to eat then either freeze or refrigerate the others. They’ll keep for a few days to a week in the fridge and until the end of time a few months in the freezer. Be sure to let the frozen ones thaw before baking–I suspect the baking dish would crack if you baked it frozen. You’ll have to adjust the cooking times for the leftovers too if they go in cold.

Leave a Reply

