Fall Capsule Wardrobe {Planning}

DSCN8793Earlier this year I found Un-Fancy and was introduced to capsule wardrobes. I took a soft-core approach to the idea with my summer wardrobe and thinned it down to around 40 items–give or take a few–I never really did an official count. And only purchased a pair of shorts and few tank tops all summer long. I loved it! I got rid of a ton of clutter, either donating or tossing several bags of unworn clothes and accessories.  I still have a few bags of off-season maybes and items I love but, don’t fit they way they used to (perhaps they will soon with my new gym membership). I’m hoping to either incorporate or eliminate them over the next year.

So for the fall season I’m in the midst of creating a true capsule wardrobe. I’d been moving along swimmingly with the purchase of a few pairs of (great fitting) skinnies, a cozy cardi, a new pair of flats and the like. Last weekend I packed away the last of my summer clothes and ruthlessly weeded through the cold-weather wear I pulled out and hung everything that made the cut.
DSCN8798And now I’ve realized this may be a little harder than I though. Barely a week into my wardrobe I’m already a little bored with it. It leaves a bit to be desired. BUT the good news is, after the ruthless weeding mentioned above, I still have room for a few more items. So in favor of creating a truly satisfying capsule wardrobe that I love and feel good in without any useless clutter, I set to some serious work (my life is so hard right!?). I printed out the Un-Fancy Capsule Wardrobe Planner and started to define and refine my “style vision”.
color
As much as I love wearing all black and gray, especially in the colder months, I realized that my wardrobe needed some color. I already had a berry sweater dress and flowy dark green top in my closet, so I thought I’d round out my wardrobe with a few more items in those shades. I’d like a few more tops–that can be worn alone, without layering–and a skirt perhaps. I’ve been pinning possibilities to my Fall Fashion board.

Hopefully I’ll be able to share my complete wardrobe in a few weeks! Do you plan out your seasonal wardrobes? Or just wing it?

One thought on “Fall Capsule Wardrobe {Planning}

  1. I am now also creating a capsule wardrobe after reading this and reading a few posts on the UnFancy website! Hoping that planning my outfits and wardrobe will help me avoid the go to yoga pants/boots/sweatshirt combo that was my go to 8/10 times last fall/winter.

Leave a Reply

