Reading Lately

Reading Lately

I’m still powering through the Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I really don’t know what I’m going to do when I finish the last book. These beasts have been keeping me thoroughly entertained for almost 6 months now.  I’ve most recently finished the fifth installment, The Fiery Cross  and the sixth installment, A Breath of Snow and Ashes. One of the things I love about the series is that the books pick up literally right where the last left off. I’m talking like Claire was boiling stew on page 966 of the one book and enjoying said stew on page 1 of the following book. It’s exactly what I want in a series! I tend to get very impatient when I have to piece together several years of story line between books.

The last two books place the entire Fraser-McKenzie clan on a growing settlement in the colonial mountains during the onset of the Revolutionary war. If you’ve read any of my reading posts, you know that I love a story that follows characters throughout their lives. Well, Diana takes it one step farther by carrying us all along on this multi-generational story. We’re talking third generation here. And somehow Grandda Jamie is just as hot as 23-year Jamie was.  Diana has yet to disappoint.

I took a little break in between Outlander installments for Orange is the New Black. I’ve had my name on the list for the memoir for weeks–and once I landed the paperback I sped through it in just a few days. I’ve been wanting to read to read the book since I first binge-watched the juicy Netflix series it inspired. Where the Netflix series provides an entertaining, scandalous and over the top story line that’s best watched in several-hour sittings–the book offers an honest, well-written and heart-felt look into one woman’s brief prison sentence. The true story exposes the weaknesses and ineffectiveness of the US corrections system and tells the surprisingly beautiful story of what the author learned from her stay and the women she spent a year of her life with.  I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

