Holiday Home Tour

Holiday Home TourI love decorating for the holidays! I spent a good part of Thanksgiving weekend helping decorate my parents house, then came home last Sunday and spent the afternoon decorating my apartment–my desk at work is decorated too! There’s a small part of me that wants to take down all my decorations just so I can put them back up again. (Don’t worry I won’t actually do it. I’m not that crazy.) So come on in and take a look around!

Holiday Home TourMy mom has been wanting a bigger tree for years and finally got one this year, so I got her hand-me-down. (score!) It’s a serious upgrade from my skinny 3-footer of Christmases past. I’ve slowly been collecting ornaments over the past few years–a few from Target, several from when I was a kid  and a few from my mom’s collection. I always thought I would have a “coordinated” Christmas tree right out of Martha’s foyer, but I really like my curated collection of new and old!
Holiday Home Tour

Can we talk about how expensive tree skirts are for a minute? I’ve seen several upwards of $40 and even spotted a $90 one–I mean come on! I don’t even spend that on skirts for myself, let alone a fake tree. So with my Mom’s help I whipped up this one for less than $15. We found a plain felt tree skirt at target for $5. It was pretty lame to begin with but I liked the scalloped edges and the price of course. We picked up 4 yards of pom-poms at Hobby Lobby and my mom sewed them on. It’s perfect with the rest of my decor–and I like it much better than the pricier versions I found.

Holiday Home TourI don’t have a fireplace, so my TV stand serves as my stand-in mantle. I decked it out with garland, lights and straw ornaments. I tucked in the trees I found a Gordmans too. I always like to display holiday cards and I think this will be their home. (And yes, I do put out the card I send too. Its too cute not to!)

Holiday Home TourThis string of knit garland is the most recent addition to the merriment. I’ve been pining after them for several weeks, so when they were on sale at Target this weekend I picked up two strings! Holiday Home Tour

A simple centerpiece for my island.

Holiday Home TourI didn’t do much decorating in my bedroom, just replaced a plant with a sparkly silver tree and strung up a few snowflakes in the windows.

See my 2012 holiday tour in my college apartment here.  

 

Leave a Reply

