2014 Reading List

2014 Reading ListHappy 2015!! How did you all ring in the new year last night? I baked a batch of cookies then fell asleep on the couch at 8:30 watching House Hunters. Are you jealous? Good, you should be. Before diving in to just another Thursday the new year, lets take a second to look back at 2014–specifically all the juicy reads I devoured.

One of my New Years’ Resolutions last year  (and I think the only one I kept…) was to read more. I wanted to finish all the unread books I had on my shelf too. I still have a few left to get to, but I’m pretty satisfied with my 2014 reading list regardless.

First off–I somehow missed Everything That Remains in my Reading List posts. I finished it late this summer and it was just as good as I hoped! It’s a memoir written by Joshua Fields Millburn with commentary by his friend, Ryan Nicodemus. The book follows Millburn’s journey to adulthood and eventually to his current minimalist way of life. Its a smart, heart-felt and often funny story of an unexpected journey to happiness. It brings up excellent questions about why we do what we do–how we spend money, how we make money and how we choose to live our lives. I highly recommend! Also, you need to go read their blog, The Minimalists. Do it right now.

2014 was easily the year of Diana Gabaldon for me. I spend almost the entire second half of the year reading her Outlander series. I just started the latest book in the series and I’m not sure what I’m going to do when I finish it–with no more Outlander to read. 😦

Even with thousands of deliciously romantic and historically correct story telling pages  from Diana, I think The Interestings was my favorite book of the year.  I was pleasantly surprised by Me Before You and could have passed on The One and Only.

Read all my Reading List posts here.

Leave a Reply

