Chocolate Chip Cookies: A Work in Progress

Chocolate Chip CookiesSo, turns out I’m kind of a cookie snob. Cookies are my absolute favorite dessert–simple and sweet. But it has to be a good cookie. Dry and crumbly–ew. Crunchy, bland or too salty–not happening. And don’t even get me started on overdone cookies.

But when I get a perfectly soft, dense cookie with just the right amount of rich sweetness I feel like I could conquer the world. (Insert slow-mo fist pump here.) I’ve made a few pretty boss batches of cookies in the past several months–but I’ve also scraped my share of flat, burnt or otherwise sub-bar messes into my trash can. I have not exactly reached (can we talk about making raught a word–like teach ,taught, but reach, raught. Do you feel me here? Did I miss a critical part of basic grammar?) a state of consistency when it comes to the chocolate chip cookie. But hey I’m only 23–I’ve still got a few years to figure it out.

Now let’s go back to those perfect cookies. I whipped up a damn good batch last week, so I thought I’d document the greatness to see if could be recreated.

I started with the basic Nestle recipe and made the following adjustments:

  • Butter (not margarine!) softened on the counter for two hours and beat in the mixer before adding the sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (instead of 3/4 cup each)
  • 2 egg yolks and 1 egg (instead of 2 eggs)
  • Homemade vanilla extract (great Christmas gift from my SIL)
  • 3 cups of flour–added one cup at a time (add the salt and baking soda with the first cup)
  • Added a splash of skim milk with the last addition of flour
  • Half semi-sweet chocolate  chips and half milk chocolate chips
  • Baked on parchment paper for 9 minutes and moved immediately to cooling racks

Do you have any magical cookies secrets? Tell me! Tell me Please!

Leave a Reply

