Reading Lately

TheBostonGirl-cvr-thumb

The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant

Historical fiction. Check. Coming of age story. Check. Great cover art. Check. What’s not to love here? The story opens with an elderly Addie answering her granddaughters question, “How did you become the woman you are today?”. She begins the story in 1915, when she was the teenage daughter of immigrants living Boston and follows her through romance, heartache and milestones–all the things you want in a proper coming of age story. The story covers some major points in American history that I’ve haven’t come across much in historical fiction and I just loved Addie’s smart, modern voice. I’m in the middle of another one of Diamant’s books right now.

One-Step-Too-Far-US-Bestseller

One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis

Ok, so I powered through page after page digging for Emily’s secret…and when it was finally revealed I wasn’t all that shocked. The plot line was reminiscent of Gone Girl. The first pages open up with Emily fleeing her family to begin a new life in a new city with a new name and clues are given through out the book as to why she left as the story goes on. Turns out I had figured out her secret pretty early on. I was just expected something more scandalous or outrageous surrounding it. In hindsight I think I was just expecting too much, but it did entertained me and I will be on the lookout for Seskis’ second book.

51-tbndBJ2L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Girls from Corona Del Mar by Rufi Thorpe

I picked this up after seeing it on one of Heart of Light’s reading lists. It’s a story of two girls that grew up together and the paths their lives take. Books that explore the often complex relationship between women that grew up together always intrigue me. The story gives a frank perspective on life–friendships, motherhood and moving on. It’s not a particularly happy or light story, but it is a refreshing portrayal of the unfairness of life.

Leave a Reply

